Pannacotta with redcurrant sauce

Pannacotta with redcurrant souce

We have both been away again and the blog has really suffered from our absence. We spent the last month in Australia! Maybe I will post some pictures in the next post. For now I want to share with you this summertime recipe: pannacotta with redcurrant sauce.

We got the redcurrants at a pick-your-own farm near Oxford. We also picked lots of raspberries, strawberries, blackcurrants, broad beans and even some carrots. Pick-your-own farms do not exist in Italy and this was the first experience for us. I really enjoyed it! It was a lovely day with sunshine and a nice summer weather and we spent a couple of hours around the farm picking more fruits and vegetables than we could carry home on our bikes. Our eyes are bigger than our stomach!

We decided to make some jam (14 jars!) with the almost three kilos of raspberries and another two kilos of strawberries, while we though that a tangy redcurrant sauce would be perfect with a sweet and creamy pannacotta.

PANNACOTTA WITH REDCURRANT SAUCE

For 4:

200 ml double cream
200 ml creme fraiche (low fat)
65 g caster sugar
1 tablespoon of milk
1 vanilla pod
5 g gelatine leaves

Soak the gelatine leaves in cold water and leave them aside. Split the vanilla pod and scrape out the seeds with the tip of a small knife. Put the seeds in a pan with the pod, cream, creme fraiche, milk and sugar and gently bring to the boil over a low heat. Stir until the sugar dissolves and the compost starts to bubble. Remove from the heat. Add the gelatine leaves after having squeezed out the excess of water, stirring until dissolved. 

Rinse four pudding moulds with cold water and fill with the pannacotta mixture. Leave to cool in the refrigerator for at least a couple of hours.

For the redcurrant sauce:

2 handful of redcurrant
2 tablespoon of icing sugar
a squeeze of lemon juice

In a small pan add the redcurrant, icing sugar and lemon juice and bring to the boil over a low heat. Simmer until syrupy and then pass the sauce through a strainer. Serve the  warm sauce over the pannacotta.

This entry was posted in Creamy dessets, Fruit (Frutta) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Pannacotta with redcurrant sauce

  1. aleksandraer says:

    This looks so nice, and sounds easy 🙂 I think I will try it, especially that now is quite easy to get redcurrant 🙂

  2. PolaM says:

    Buona! I had no idea that redcurrant were ribes. Looks great: fresh and tasty!

  3. I love redcurrant… unfortunately I can’t find them anymore in my garden :S

  4. Christine says:

    Looks wonderful!

  5. Ann says:

    Wow – I love panna cotta – yours is so beautiful! I look forward to seeing your pictures and I hope you had a great trip!

  6. This looks delicious, but what are gelatine leaves? I have never made panna cotta because I don’t eat gelatin so I’m wondering if this is something different.

  7. Omg!!! I am so excited to make this… I’m going red currant picking next weekend! Yum!

  8. Pingback: Spelt mafaldine with broadbean, pancetta and pecorino |

  9. Yum Yum yum. I will make it for my friends with blackberries I picked on my way back from the office!! As blackberries are sweeter than red currant shall i add the icing sugar in the same quantity or a little less would be fine? 🙂 baci

  10. Panna cotta is sounding wonderful to me right now– I just came back a few weeks ago from Italy (which I LOVED). Yours looks so perfect with the bright red currants on top… lovely. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Pingback: Delicious Berry Recipes

Leave a Reply

