Edamame and Jerusalem Artichokes soup

Edamame and Jerusalem Artichokes soup

Here is another idea on how to use Jerusalem artichokes. This time a light, delicate and healthy soup where the Jerusalem artichokes are combined with soy beans, often called edamame. Technically edamame are a specific preparation of immature soybeans in the pod. Soy beans are really difficult to find in Italy, I tried them for the first time here in the UK and I loved them. They have a really delicate and sweet flavour so I thought that they would be perfect in a soup with Jerusalem artichokes, and in fact the result is this smooth and silky soup with a delicate flavour.

For this soup I used frozen soy beans, which you can easily find in major supermarkets. For those who can’t find soy beans, they can be replaced with the same amount of cannellini beans, in any case the final result will be rewarding.

EDAMAME AND JERUSALEM ARTICHOKES SOUP

Ingredients (for two):

350 g Jerusalem artichokes
250 g shelled soy beans, frozen
1 garlic clove
extra virgin olive oil
salt
black pepper

Wash, peel and cut into small pieces the Jerusalem artichokes. In a pan bring to the boil some salted water and cook the Jerusalem artichokes for about 15 minutes or until tender. In a different pan warm a tablespoon of extra-virgin olive oil, add the garlic clove and, after a couple of minutes, add the drained Jerusalem artichokes. Keep the cooking water.

In the meantime cook the frozen the soy beans in boiling water for a couple of minutes and then add them to the Jerusalem artichokes pan. Cover with the cooking water which you should have kept aside. Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes, then turn off the heat and reduce to a cream using a blender. Add more boiling water, or vegetable broth if you prefer, until you have reached the desired consistency. Season with salt. Sprinkle with freshly ground black pepper and a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil and serve.

This entry was posted in Soup, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Edamame and Jerusalem Artichokes soup

  1. This soup sounds perfect! I just made my first jerusalem artichoke soup the other night!

  2. What a nice healthy combination! Your picture looks wonderful and very tempting for me to try this recipe. Haha. Thanks for sharing!

  3. @Beth Michelle: thank you! I’ve recently discovered Jerusalem artichokes and I really like them, I’m experimenting lots of dishes with them.

    @Nami: Hi Nami, welcome back! I’m happy to know that the picture is tempting for you 🙂 Let me know if you try the soup! bye

  4. RavieNomNoms says:

    Oh wow that is really gorgeous! I don’t think I have ever seen a prettier soup

  5. What a beautiful and delicious soup!

  6. nocemoscata says:

    I love that photo and the soup seems really delicious! Absolutely to try!

  7. TasteFood says:

    What a delicious combination. I love edamame and Jerusalem artichokes!

  8. @Magic of Spice: Thank you! I am always delighted to receive your comments.

    @nocemoscata: Benvenuta! Thanks and let me know if you try the soup.

    @TasteFood: Thank you, if you love edamame and Jerusalem artichokes I strongly recommend you to try the recipe 🙂
    p.s.: your blog is amazing.

  9. Tiffany says:

    I’ve never had or even heard of Jerusalem artichokes, so I just looked it up, I guess in the US they are better known as sunchokes. I’m curious, I will look for them because this soup sounds tasty and healthy, thanks for the inspiration!

  10. Pingback: Edamame And Jerusalem Artichokes Soup. | Soy Beans Reviews

Leave a Reply

